Getting Rid of Flash – After 3 Weeks

My last post was about how I got rid of flash on my host, to have it run only in a VM. After 3 weeks of no flash on the host, I have realized how little I really use it.

Many sites now use HTML5 at least as an alternative to flash so even for things like video streaming I did not miss it as much as I thought I would. And those few times that I did need to use flash I found it ran very well within my VMs. There is no noticeable latency even if I have several instances of flash loaded at the same time. I also ran into a neat alternative to flash called youtube-dl. This is a handy script packaged by most linux distros which allows you to download videos from sites by just providing it the URL to the page the video is embedded on. Its a great tool to use if you dont want to run flash at all or would like to make a personal archive of a video. You can also use mpv to stream videos, once again all you need to do is provide it a URL to the page the video is embedded on.

Overall I think life without flash has gone well and I hope soon I can say I wont have to use it at all. Until then though, I am fine with using it within a VM.

This entry was posted in Linux, Security and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Getting Rid of Flash – After 3 Weeks

  1. Ricardo says:

    You also have smtube, a nice youtube browser. If you combine smtube with youtube-dl, mpv and smplayer you don’t even need an Internet browser 😉

    Regards,
    Ricardo

Leave a Reply

